Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

collapse function in expression

I am a new qlik view developer and I wonder if there is a way how to give a value in the expression when a dimension is collapsed.

For example, if we have 3 classes (a, b, c), when collapsed against it should appear value (6).

DimensionExpression
a1
b5
c4

when collapsed it has to show:

DimensionExpression
abc6

Thanks in advance and regards,

Stoyan

7 Replies
sunny_talwar

How did you get 6 for abc? It is clearly not the sum of 1+5+4, right? In addition, what is the dimension you are using and what is the expression? Would you be able to elaborate?

Not applicable
Author

Hi Sunny,

Yes, 6 has nothing to do with the sum of the above, it is just a different value. The dimension is cyclic group and the expression I need to build and let's say I will use variable for it.

Thanks

sunny_talwar

So how did you come with 6? How does the two table provided above related to each other?

Not applicable
Author

Hi Sunny,

The idea is that I have three regions - east, west and central. This region I use in the dimensions as column in the pivot table. Against these regions I have some actuals sales performed and I have targets for each region, as well as global target. I am taking the targets by region with variables (against each region I have some target shown, defined by the variable). However, I need to say to QV when the "Region" dimension is collapsed (i.e. we have the global actuals for the sales) to show the global target, which is a different figure.

Hope that this helps.

Thanks,

Stoyan

marcus_sommer

Maybe you used a dimension group "structure" with the fields:

global --> region --> area --> ...

and then you queried which value is displayed, like:

pick(match(getcurrentfield(structure), 'global', 'region', ...),