Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

initiate macro from script?

Hey qlikview proffesionals. I'm new to qv and would like to use VB syntax instead of that in the "normal" script mode. I have a datafile to treat with the ending .qvd and from that I would like to extract some information. So I'm guessing the way to go (if i want to use VB syntax) is to load the file from a script and then initiate the macro somehow.

Also would like to know if it's possible to make use of arrays when I write code in qlikviews script?

Sorry for newbie questions but I'm sure there are some of you that enjoys helping! (And yes, I've used the search function)

4 Replies
Gysbert_Wassenaar

I strongly recommend you use the qlikview script language as much as possible. It offers a large amount of extremely useful built-in functions. Trying to do without those is a big mistake imho.

You can create functions in vbscript in the macro editor. The functions you create there can be used in the script. See here for a simple example. Subs (subroutines) cannot be used in the script. However the script can't access any UI elements like sheets, sheet objects, bookmarks etc. Those are not available during a reload. The vbscript language includes arrays so you can use them if you want.

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand
Not applicable
Author

Thanks Gysbert!

My problem at hand is actually one of time optimization, so using built-in functions in qlikview script is probably a lot better than using VBscript. I'm assuming the latter would cost unnecessary time if a solution is at all possible in qvscript.