Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Lech_Miszkiewicz
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Dual as a chart argument in Pixel Perfect template

Hi All,
This is not a question on how to do something, it is rather insight of what i recently found.
I used Qlik sense (feb 2019) and Nprinting (feb 2019)

So i was testing recently different ways of building a pie chart in Nprinting and during the test i wanted to build a pixel perfect template based pie chart.
So as usual i just created simple table in Qlik Sense with one dimension and one measure. At first i did not notice that my dimension was actually dual field as this was a work i did at customer site. Then i created pixel perfect template and i created in it pie chart using wizard.
As a data source i used my simple table.
When i clicked preview i got an empty chart. I started playing with it, tried different chart types etc. still no luck.
Then accidently i changed my argument type to Numerical (instead of auto or qualitative) and it worked, but then values come out as numbers only.
I scratched my head for a minute and suddenly-voila!! I reckon it is due to dual field used as a dimension.

So here is my question to you guys @Ruggero_Piccoli & @Daniel_Jenkins .
Is this expected behaviour?
Do we have to create dedicated text fields for qualitative arguments? - it is bit annoying since i usually use dual for sorting purposes in charts

btw. Screenshot below is only to mark up area where you select argument (it is not a screenshot from my testing template, Just saying this to awoid confusion as i do not have values populated in it on Value Properties section.

1.png

Thanks

Lech

cheers Lech, When applicable please mark the correct/appropriate replies as "solution" (you can mark up to 3 "solutions". Please LIKE threads if the provided solution is helpful to the problem.
Labels (3)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Ruggero_Piccoli
Support
Support

Hi,