Skip to main content
Announcements
July 15, NEW Customer Portal: Initial launch will improve how you submit Support Cases. IMPORTANT DETAILS
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

2 Fact tables share Dimension table at different granularity

Hi All

I have 2 fact tables containing data at different granularity (no option to concatenate).  They both use the same hierarchy dimension table but link to it at different points in the hierarchy, one links to the primary key, the other links in the middle of the hierarchy.  Do I have any choice but to create 2 dimension tables at different levels?

Thanks

1 Solution
10 Replies
Not applicable
Author

How is your hierarchy stored?

Is there relation between thise 2 fact levels?

Not applicable
Author

in a single denormalised table

Not applicable
Author

Did you considered to transform hierarchy with hierarchybelongsto()?

Not applicable
Author

Hi Henric,

So if I have a master link table with a key to a dimension, e.g. 

%Dimension                         %MasterLink

<ANY>|Departmentx              aaaaa11111

12345|Departmentx                bbbbb2222   

And a dimension table with the same key and groupings, e.g.:

%Dimension                    GroupA          GroupB          GroupC

<ANY>|Departmentx        N/A                aGroup          bGroup

12345|Departmentx          myGroup        aGroup          bGroup

This would avoid many to many and allow me to have a single dimension table?

Thanks

Dominic

hic
Former Employee
Former Employee

First of all: I think you should concatenate. This is possible even though you have different granularity. See Fact Table with Mixed Granularity and Generic keys. So: avoid the link table.

Further, both the solution with Generic Keys and the solution that Dariusz Mielczarek is hinting at above (using HierarchyBelongsTo) involve a bridge table; a table between the facts and the dimension. So this bridge table I don't think you can avoid.