Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Input Box Expressions

Hello Qlik Community, I'm new to Qlikview and I am struggling with a task I must do.

I load some variables from my sql server; Region, Site and Tank. Each Tank has a region and a site and I want to create an input list where the user chooses the region the site and the tank. The tricky part is that when the user chooses a region, the list of sites must be filtered with the sites only coming from the specific region, same with the tank. When the user chooses the prefered site, only the tanks of the site must be displayed.

At the moment the variables containing the Region, Site and Tank are vRegion, vSite and vTank used in my Input Box and the expression used in all of them look something like this

" =Concat(DISTINCT Region,',') ".

Also the options Predefined Values Only and Predefined Values in Drop-down are used as well.

The part of my script where I load the variables is:

LOAD *;

select SiteGroup.Designation Region,Site.Designation Site, Tank.Designation Tank

from SiteGroup

join Site on Site.SiteGroupID=SiteGroup.SiteGroupID

join Tank on Tank.SiteID=Site.SiteID

I've been looking yesterday all day long for something that could help me but didn't had much luck. Any ideas will be much appreciated!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Thank you for all your repies.I have managed to solve my issue using the Only() function while aggregating the entities of Region and Site from my datafield:

"=concat(DISTINCT aggr(only({<Region={$(vRegion)}>} Site),Site),',')".

The problem that I am facing right now is the following. When filtering the Tanks

"=concat(DISTINCT aggr(Only({<Site={$(vSite)}>} Tank),Tank),',')"