Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2025: 3 days of full immersion in data, analytics, and AI. May 13-15 | Orlando, FL: Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Scatter Plot- Is QlikView implementation short of the Ideal

Hi,

I have been using QlikView for around 6 months now, and am impressed by its Data Discovery capabilities.

However, if I my understanding is correct, it appears that the Scatter Plot implementation is not ideal.

Quoting from the book, Making Sense of Data (Glenn J Myatt, Wiley-2007):

Scatterplots can be used to identify whether any relationship exists between two continuous variables based on the ratio or interval scales. The two variables are plotted on the x- and y-axes. Each point displayed on the scatterplot is a single observation. The position of the point is determined by the value of the two variables.

A scatter plot, by default, should attempt plotting EVERY data point. QlikView mandates a dimension, and then proceeds by default to sum the two variables selected (x & y). In case you want every point to be plotted, the primary key of the data set would have to be selected, which will lead to the legend giving strange values.

Is there a better way to use scatter plots in QlikView?

12 Replies
tresesco
MVP
MVP

Have a look here: Recipe of Making Scatter Chart  and the links you get there provided by Barry Harmsen

Not applicable
Author

Thanks.

The link explains the Scatter plot implementation in QlikView. Looks like Dimension is a must, which need not necessarily be a case for Scatter plot.

For instance, if you have data for Wind Speed, and Pollution for various Cities, say 5 Cities,  taken on different dates, say for 1 reading for each day of the week.

If we simply wanted to see all the 52 X 5 plot values as a scatter plot, using the Primary key or Record ID appears to be the only option.