Updated By:

Troy_Raney

Created date:

Dec 21, 2022 7:42:46 AM

Troy_Raney_0-1671626443646.gif

Environment

• Qlik Replicate

Transcript

Hello everyone and welcome to this special Techspert Talks sessions. I'm Troy Raney and I'll be your host for today's session today's presentation is Troubleshooting Qlik Replicate Latency with our own Kelly Hopson. Kelly, why don't you tell us a little bit about yourself?
Hey Troy. Thank you. My name is Kelly Hobson and I am a Tech Support Engineer at Qlik. I've been here for 1 year now and I support Qlik Replicate which is a popular tool in our Data Integration suite, and I also support Qlik AutoML.
Great. All right, and today we're going to be taking a look at Replicate specifically; and we're going to be talking about latency, and what that means; go into the details of some best practices; how to troubleshoot it; and we're definitely going to walk through a demo. So, Kelly, for those of us who aren't that familiar, what is Qlik Replicate and how does it work?
Sure. So, Qlik Replicate is a tool for moving data from point A to point B.
Right.
It's a very powerful tool for data replication and streaming data across a wide variety of Source and Target endpoints. And the main functions are the kind of two parts: the full load, which grabs the query directly from the Source and brings it to Target; and then our Change Data Capture or CDC technology, which remotely scans transaction logs to bring changes over in real time. And this is the real bread and butter of the tool is our CDC capabilities.
Right. That's like the power. It keeps everything up to date and live, and I guess that brings us into the topic for today. So, how would you define latency then?
Sure. When the data is behind expectation or schedule, that's when we encounter what we call Latency.
Right.