Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Macro to check if data exists in a chart

Hi all,

I am a beginner in QlikView and what's more a French guy trying to be understandable to the community, so please be lenient with me

Here is the issue :

I am attempting to write a macro (not inside QlikView but in a external VBScript file) in order to export each day data from a chart in QlikView to an Excel file. More specifically I need to export the value of only one cell in this chart and paste it in my file. So i use this command :

objCell = ActiveDocument.GetSheetObject("CH99").GetCell(1,20)

Workbook.Worksheets(1).Cells(1,1) = objCell.Text

In cases where the chart in QlikView does not contain any data, the message "Error" is displayed in the chart. And thus my VBScript file cannot extract the desired data and I got an error.

That is why, I would like to check if my chart contain data before exporting :

- if data exists, then do extract normally

- if there is no data, write a 0 in my Excel file, as below :

Workbook.Worksheets(1).Cells(1,1) = "0"

But I have no idea how to do this so any help is welcome

Hope that I have been understandable 

Thanks in advance !

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
marcus_sommer

Then your work will be quite limitated and you will need a lot of efforts to build all these workarounds instead of using the inbuilt qlik-capabilities. I suggest to review with your colleagues the roles and access-rights within your qlik-environment.

Beside them try something like this:

set table = ActiveDocument.GetSheetObject( "CH99" )

on error resume next

objCell = table.GetCell(1,20) Workbook.Worksheets(1).Cells(1,1) = objCell.Text

if err.number > 0 then

end if

on error goto 0

- Marcus

View solution in original post

8 Replies
marcus_sommer

Try something like this:

if table.GetRowCount > 0 then

else

end if

- Marcus

Not applicable
Author