Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
qvuser2012
Contributor II
Contributor II

NPrinting Report Distribution & bad filter parameter

Hi Everyone!

I've been using N Printing for a few years now to send out weekly emailed excel reports.  It's been working fine. Today I experienced some unwanted behavior and was curious if there is some kind of setting that could be made that would basically prevent N-Printing from sending everything when it does not get a match. 

Here is what happened:  "John Doe" is a new sales person. When he was created in our SAP system, they set his name up as "john Doe".  I added his name and filter into my N-Printing Sales report that filters based on this salesman's name.  Later, I contacted our payroll admin to correct the SAP entry to "John" because I like to use the proper case. I did not think much else about it.  The correction was made to SAP and I felt better.

Today, when I executed the report, John Doe got a copy of everyone's report.  He should have only got his report and not everyone but evidently Qlikview could not reduce the data as there was no exact match to "john Doe".  This is the normal behavior I think. I have since made the correction to his filter then ran my test to ensure issue resolved.  Normally 'master data' like this would never change but there may be other circumstances where one might have a 'mandatory' filter that should match or the report does not give anything.

Is there any settings that could be used to require an exact match to a filter to provide output rather than default to everything when it does not not?

Thank you for your replies and or suggestions.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Lech_Miszkiewicz
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

I suggest you look closer...:)

1.png

cheers Lech, When applicable please mark the correct/appropriate replies as "solution" (you can mark up to 3 "solutions". Please LIKE threads if the provided solution is helpful to the problem.