QlikView and Windows PowerShell

This is for my Windows Administrator friends! A demonstration of how you may use QlikView to execute and load data using Windows PowerShell.

Some background:

If you are like me, you use QlikView not only to develop nice dashboards to share with others, but you also use QlikView to frequently perform quick ad-hoc analysis on different datasets. Sounds familiar? Great! So naturally you can understand that when I recently started playing with PowerShell it made sense to try to load some data into QlikView.

The demo application will use PowerShell to read:

• Application & System Event Logs
    • All Services
    • All running Processes

How I did it:

The approach I took is straight forward, I use QlikView’s ‘Execute’ command to call a PowerShell command which queries some objects and saves the results to a CSV-based file. That CSV-file is then read into QlikView for analyses.

The demo application is already loaded with some demo data which was run on my computer.

A friendly disclaimer:

I think this option is probably more suited for ad-hoc queries and quick analysis, so if you want to build a production-ready application, you may want to also consider other options such as the QlikView API.

Some potential troubleshooting:

Depending on your environment, you may run into the following:

Access denied: The PowerShell commands I am using should run for most users, however if you run into an issue you may want to consider running QlikView as an Administrator:

1. Press and hold down the SHIFT key and right-click on the QlikView icon
    2. From the popup menu select “Run as Administrator” or “Run as a different user”

Execute flag: QlikView might prompt you with a Security Alert because you are using the ‘Execute’ command. You have two options:

1. You can press on the “Override  Security, Execute This Statement” button each time you reload the data, or